Friday, June 14, 2024

See All the Winners From the 2023 CFDA Awards

Must read

Every time the CFDA names a new chairman, a new location is selected for the annual CFDA Awards. Tonight, the fashion set headed uptown to the Museum of Natural History to usher in Thom Browne’s two-year term in the role, and find out which one of this year’s honorees will take home the coveted Trova statue.

Hosted by Anne Hathaway, the night kicked off with Willy Chavarria being named American Menswear Designer of the Year. Upon accepting the award, the designer jokingly called the fashion industry “so extreme and so unforgiving” before telling the crowd of attendees—including Kim Kardashian and Serena Williams, who was honored as the council’s Fashion Icon—that he creates clothes in order to “lift people up and incorporate love into the world.” After making an honest request for more empathy in fashion and in life, he closed by saying that “we need to be good to one another.”

2023 cfda fashion awards cocktails

The night’s host, Anne Hathaway.

Dia Dipasupil//Getty Images

Next, after a brief blunder where Maria Cornejo’s highlight reel was shown onscreen instead of her own work, Mara Hoffman accepted the Environmental Sustainability Award, describing her “discomfort of the industry” and its waste problem as a “catalyst for transformation.” Cornejo, in a moving speech through tears, dedicated her Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to “the innocent children who are voiceless and will not have a lifetime.” On a lighter note, Demi Moore followed, introducing her friend and colleague Gwyneth Paltrow, who scooped up the Amazon Innovation Award. “You made a candle that smells like a vagina!” Moore exclaimed.

Below, we compiled the full list of winners from the 2023 CFDA Awards.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Catherine Holstein, Khaite

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Willy Chavarria

American Accessory Designer of the Year

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row

Shop With Google American Emerging Designer of the Year

Rachel Scott, Diotima

Board of Directors Tribute

Vera Wang

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert

Domenico De Sole

Amazon Innovation Award

Gwyneth Paltrow, Goop

Fashion Icon Award

Serena Williams

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Maria Cornejo

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Alina Cho

Environmental Sustainability Award

Mara Hoffman

International Designer of the Year

Jonathan Anderson, JW Anderson and Loewe

Headshot of Claire Stern

Claire Stern

Digital Director

Claire Stern is the Digital Director of Previously, she was Deputy Editor of Her interests include fashion, food, travel, music, Peloton, and The Hills—not necessarily in that order. She used to have a Harriet the Spy notebook and isn’t ashamed to admit it.

More articles

Latest article